Scared of lymph node involvement

Hi all,
I’m new to all this and in need of some words of encouragement. I had WLE just over 3 weeks ago but was shocked to find out last week that they found it in 1 of 3 lymph nodes. Petrified it’s spread beyond there now, don’t get results until 5th may. My surgeon has given me the choice of a full clearance but strongly warned of risks involved. I have no idea what to do for the best, feeling very confused

Any advice?

Xx

Hi MrsMetz, I’m sorry you have had to join us but a warm welcome anyway ? If you post on the just diagnosed thread as well you will find plenty of ladies who have had node involvement and can share their experiences with you, please try not to panic about it having spread , we all do but for the majority it hasn’t, this is the worst time waiting on your full results but between us all we have been through the lot and will always be someone here who can help xx Jo 

Hi Jo,
Thank you so much for taking the time to reply. It came as such a shock, really felt positive going in for my follow up so the news hit me like a train. Felt as bad as the day I was diagnosed. It’s been such a roller coaster of emotions

xx

Hi MrsMetz. I too had one node affected after SNB which came as a shock as the original biopsies were clear. I really struggled with the thought of full clearance because of the potential risks in the future but as my BCN said, around 70 percent of people don’t go on to get lymphodema but they do have to advise you of the risks.