Scottish Referral Guidelines for Suspected Cancer (2007)

Scottish Referral Guidelines for Suspected Cancer (2007) I wish to inform all the women who have given me support or been following my postings that I have just, this week, heard from the Scottish Executive that the new Scottish Referral Guidelines have now been completed and include “unilateral axillary lymph node (my symptoms) and will be implemented shortly.

I have been campaigning for the last two years to make sure that GPs refer women with lumps under their armpit in light of what has happened to me at GP level – refused further investigation (3 times) on the grounds that there was nothing for me to worry about, only to find eventually that I had localised advanced invasive lobular cancer. This was 4 years after my first consultation with concerns.

This should be of great benefit to all women who are suspicious of unusual developments in this area of their body and subsequently present armpit swelling, thickening and lumps to their GP.

cancerinscotland.scot.nhs.uk/index.htm
then Reports and publications
Reports and guidelines

Thanks to all who have encouraged me.

Kind regards.

Jeannie

Congratulations Jeannie Its your kind of determined campaigning that will make all the difference for women in the future to avoid what happened to you.

best wishes

Jane

Well done, Jeannie!

I am also the victim of a lackadaisical GP who dismissed my tumour as a cyst for nearly 8 months. I am 43 and had IDC with a palpable lump yet still wasn’t referred for furhter investigation. She told me to take evening primrose oil!

I wasn’t sure whether to raise a formal compaint but your post has urged me to go ahead.

You should be very proud of yourself.

Lola

Well done Jeannie

It can’t be easy running a campaign when you have more pressing issues (your own health) to concern you. It is thanks to you and women like you that we are able to keep the treatment of BC in the public eye and moving forwards.

Well done you