Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trust your body and your instincts, don't override them

2 REPLIES 2
ann-m
Community Champion

Re: Trust your body and your instincts, don't override them

A wonderful post, Tigony, thanks so much.
ann x
Patriciamay

Re: Trust your body and your instincts, don't override them

Tigony 

Beautiful, thank you so much.  I am sitting here with the sun shining and yellow daffodils swaying, your words very powerful and resonate.

Xxxx

Tigony

Trust your body and your instincts, don't override them

I just wanted to share this, as it might help someone else. Last summer I had very mild discomfort in my right breast. I have had twinges in both breasts as all of us have, but I became focused on my right breast. My left breast did not bother me at all. I met a breast oncologist at a party, and without making clear what I was feeling, I questioned her a bit (I am a writer, so always question everyone). She said, 'Women often just know'. So I gave in to my instinct that something wasn't right, and went to the GP, getting him to refer me. By that time I had no symptoms of ANY KIND. I had kept feeling around, but nothing was there. In the autumn I lost my job, which was a shock and I became quite miserable. Shortly afterwards I went for my mammogram and it came back as needing a biopsy due to some calcium deposits. So I had that, and they found  nothing, so referred me for vacuum biopsy. That came back positive for DCIS intermediate. At which point I was referred for lumpectomy, which I had on 14 March. That came back 10mm DCIS, plus 0.5mm cancer, HER2 negative - clean margins of 10mm. Next thing is Sentinal Node Biopsy on 25 April (I have delayed it by a week or so til then as I don't want my 16 year son to know anything, and he is with me for holidays revising hard for GCSEs.) They will also offer radio, and I am gleaning advice on here in advance. I will go with radio as a preventative measure.