Unsympathetic employers

Hi, I have been diagnosed with DCIS for the second time and am facing a mastectomy and immediate reconstruction next week.
i have been working for my current employers for the past 10 months. They have always been less than caring but they have really been a disappointment since I told them my diagnosis. They are a small privately owned company but they employ about 100 employees so they’re not insignificant.
out of courtesy I mentioned to them that I needed to take and make a quite a few personal calls with hospital appointments and care support network and next thing I knew there was a memo come round saying they were going to make it a disciplinary offence to have a personal phone out other than designated break times. I work in a small office doing the accounts so its easy to make up any time but their attiitude has been totally inflexible. They have refused to let me work from home around my appointments so I have had to loads the time off as sick leave which is unpaid and the leave I need to take after the operation will also be unpaid. Not once have they asked if there is any way they can help but instead have tried to increase my workload.
i got so upset last week that I broke down and told them I was going home and I haven’t returned since.
am I just unlucky or have others found that employers leave a lot to be desired?

Oh crap, I added an emoticon, and my post disappeared!!

Your employers sound horrible. I have read here that cancer is covered under the disability discrimination laws, so you might like to have a chat to somebody about how you are being treated. You could try the helpline here maybe, or the folks at Macmillan??

I guess its not always easy to bring in the big guns, especially when you are feeling vulnerable, but by the same token, you have enough on your plate without having to deal with this bullying, and maybe some bigger boys being involved would make them play nice!!! :frowning: