cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WORKING DURING CHEMO

6 REPLIES 6
squeakymouse

Re: WORKING DURING CHEMO

I had about 3 - 4 days off sick after each chemo then worked the rest of the time, mostly from home. I am an engineer with a mainly office job so not so much of an infection risk. I normally travel up to Scotland 1 - 2 times per month for site visits but was strongly discouraged from doing this during chemo. I found I needed to carry on working to give me a sense of at least some things carrying on as normal, otherwise I would have just sat around the house all day thinking crazy stuff and probably ended up in a psych ward.
Squeakymouse xx

r_hands

Thanks Ladies

I guess you're all right, we have to do what we feel is good for us.

I just want to retain a sense of normality. I love my job and the team I work with. I do understand that I may not be up to going in but I wanted other opinions.

Robbie Jane XXXXXXXXXXX
KahrenQ

Hi
I didnt work because of infection risk, I work with teenagers many of whom live independently and some of that involves visiting some real dives! I had 3 FEC first and if I am honest could have worked through that. If my employer had allowed change in role temporarily or home working I would have taken them up on it. Then came Docetaxel.....no way could I have worked through that.
By the time chemo was over, though, I was chomping at the bit to get back - I needed some normality, something other than BC in my life.

Do what you can, but listen to your body was the best advice I was given.

Good luck!
Maryland