When to return to work after mastectomy?

Hi All,

I know we are all different, but I was wondering what was the average amount of time to have off of work after a mastectomy. I had mine on 15th Jan 08, so am almost 4 weeks post surgery. I have a very physical job (window dresser) which involves a lot of lifting and carrying, my arm is still very stiff and the scar feels tight and is not fully closed yet.

My company have been very good, and have not put any pressure on me to come back, but I just wanted to know out of curiosity, how long other ladies have had off of work?

Many Thanks,

Tracy x

I took a total of 10 months off work as i had to have chemo and radio after my mastecomy. It is a purely p[ersonal thing that no one can judge you on. I returned to work part time initially then after 4 weeks went back to full time. I work as a manager of a hostel.Istill get tired very easily a year after op, and wonder sometimes if i went back too soon, the main reasons being money and boredom. Don’t push yourself, you have just had a serious op and your body and mind need lots of rest and cossetting before you return. Once you do return it becomes very difficult to turn round to your employers and say sorry i need more time off, so good luck for the future

For my first mastectomy last March, I took 6 weeks off work, which , for me, wasn’t really enough. Got tired very easily, couldn’t lift much, found getting up off my chair a strain (I’m a receptionist). Then there was the emotional stress that went along with it all.

I’m having another mastectomy in April and I’m taking 8 weeks off this time.

My consultant said it takes about 4-5 months for your body to return back to how it was after a mastectomy, so be kind to yourself.

Perhaps a phased return (ie a few hours a day, or a couple of days a week for a few weeks - build up to your normal hours slowly) might be an idea.

Good luck!

Jacki xx

Hi