Working through treatment and coping alone

Hi I had a right side masectomy in March followed by another surgery for lymph node clearance in April, I have my hospital pre treament assessment next Friday with the plan to start chemo the week after, 6 sessions then to be followed by 3 weeks of radiotheraphy and hormone treatment.  I have been so bored at home, there is just me and a 12 year old daughter who shares her time between here and her dads, so I am on my own most of the time - so has anyone been in that situation - how did you manage/cope?  I am also mentally bored - popped into the office last week and missed it so much but I have struggled to find any indepth information of people working through their treatment - I am a Manager within an office environment. Can anyone help please?

Hello Tinker47

Welcome to the forums. 

As well as the support you will receive on the forums we also have a free helpline where you can talk things through with a member of staff who are there to offer emotional support as well as practical information. The free phone number is 0808 800 6000 and the lines are open Monday to Friday 9.00 to 5.00 and Saturday 10.00 to 2.00.

With best wishes

June, moderator

Hi Tinker

I would discuss with your HR department. Your emplyer should support you in letting you work as and when you are able. Can you work from home?

I too am a nurse manager…my employer has said I can work as and when I want…with no questions if I cannot work. My GP has given me a certificate reflecting this… I am being paid for being off…so not actually a sick certificate

Is your empoyer paying you while you are off? If so yu can go in when yu feel able…usually the first week is the toughest…and you have to avoidinfections if colleagues have colds etc. By day 8 most people feel near normal… but the fatigue accumulates with each cheo sessions… Mine affects my eyes at first so not easy to use the computer or to drive. Fortunately I can work alot from home