71.9K members
1.2M posts
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working whilst undergoing treatment.....

10 REPLIES 10
jmeg

Re: Working whilst undergoing treatment.....

Hi I am on EC 2nd cycle day 12 I work part-time in a shop and told my ONC that I wanted to try and work through,Also going on to T after EC but he is doing it weekly for 12 wks to minimise SEs. I only work thurs/fri/sat so he arranged chemo for mondays so I have a few days after and I also get super duper WBC injection on the tuesday and this cycle they gave me anti sickness injection(because of sickness of cycle 1) with the chemo that lasts 8 days and not suffered any nausea at all this time,I only get SSP when I am off sick so lose the first 3 days had to put a sick note in this week for 2 weeks because of a rare SE that I devloped but spoke to HR because if I am going to lose 3 days each time I am off sick then finacally not worth working and would of got a full 6 mths sick note,but she explained because its the same illness I wont lose any more days after this if I am off again but I am learning to listen to my body and just take each day as it comes and put myself first.
Jill
Helm

I've just started chemo (1st one 3 weeks ago), and I'm currently looking for a new job. I'm very worried about how I'll cope when I find one. I've not been feeling my normal self at all after chemo, I generally feel very fatigued and am not able to be as active as I normally am. I also caught an infection last week (on antibiotics, which adds to not feeling great).
I think there's a bit more security if you are already in a job, but for a new job...I can't imagine it would go down well, having to take time off for feeling unwell, and also there's the risk of catching an infection (depending on the work environment).
Zuzy how did you manage to get a week off after each chemo session? Was that unpaid or on company sick pay if I may ask. Seems like you have a very accomodating employer:)