cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Yoga

11 REPLIES 11
Highlighted

Re: Yoga

Sil I couldn't agree with you more. I have been practising yoga for about 8 years now. In May I had a lumpectomy and was back doing gentle yoga 2 weeks later. I had a full node clearance 2 weeks ago and my BCN said it is ok to return to yoga as soom as I want to, just listen to my body, which of course is good practise in yoga anyway. I can't emphasise enough the benefits of yoga for mobility, relaxation and for developing a positive well being. Recommend it to everyone.

Highlighted

Hello All,

I had been practicing Yoga for about 8 years before my diagnosis in March and my usual practice was Astanga based which is quite an energetic and gymnastic type of Yoga.

The term "Astanga" was first used by Patanjali, a sage who wrote the "yoga sutras" over two thousand years ago. Astanga means "eight limbs" the first of which is "Yama" which means self-restraint. There are 5 yamas and they include "ahimsa" or nonviolence. This is nonviolence towards others but also nonviolence to ourselves. This is what they mean by listening to your body and not attempting anything in your practice that you are not happy or comfortable with. There should definitely be no pain in any of your postures.

There are many different ways to practice yoga. I recommenced my yoga practice 2 weeks after surgery. The first part of my practice was just kneeling on my mat doing all the exercises the physio gave me after my mastectomy, paying extra attention to my breathing. I then carried on with some "Yin Yoga" style postures which are held for a few minutes. I only did seated postures and nothing that involved any weight through my arms.