first chemo

Hi im new to this …please go easy on me

Im on my first lot of chemo and not coping well at all . im  a former emetaphobic , i had hypno which cured the fear years ago but after living like that till 30 plus it still worries me some especially at times like this.

I know there are so many more awful side effects to come yet and they also worry me. so far im battling the nausea …taking the tablets given and eating all the nibbly things when i can . drinking enough too. I also woke in the night with dead pic line arm so that sent me into a panic but spoke with nurses and all moving and fine now. im also having tummy jabs every day atm too…unpleasant but ok.

also the deppresion and tears that come with it random over hair going, feeling a mess, and feeling totoally unlike me and pretty useless in every way dosnt help. My 13 year old son keeps me going but seriously 5 more to go …can i really do it ?

Im a positive person in all but this is already killing my soul.

but saying all that im most grateful i have a lifeline and hope at the end of it unlike so many .

feel guilty ranting  

Hi Bev,

I’m sorry you’re feeling like this and hope you’re feeling a bit more settled now, x

im just finishing with the side effects of chemo 4 and it is doable but there has been a point in each round when I’ve felt that I couldn’t keep going. 

The first one is the worst as it is so unknown. For the next one you can go in with a plan - knowing what to expect at each stage, getting better meds for the side effects and physcologically it is easier. 

There is lots of help out there - have you tried your GP or BC nurse for counselling ? Maggies and Macmillan can do the same and breast cancer care have a helpline during the day. 

Take care and be good to yourself - you will fin inner strength that you could not imagine. Big hugs, xxxx

Bev,