herceptin

Hi this is my first time on i was diagnosed in march this year and had mastectomy with reconstruction. I finished chemo in july and due to start herceptin. I have been off work since march and am due to go back to work but am worried about the side effects of herceptin and if it will interfere with work. Can any one tell me if the side are as bad as once from chemo . westie123

Hi

Welcome to the forums, I’m sure other users will be along to support you soon.
In the meantime you may find it useful to contact our free helpline on 0808 800 6000, opening hours are Monday to Friday 9.00 – 5.00 and Saturday 9.00 – 2.00.

I have also attached a link to our free publication on herceptin

breastcancercare.org.uk/server/show/nav.30/changeTemplate/PublicationDisplay/publicationId/123

Best wishes
June, moderator

Hi Westie
sorry to hear about your diagnosis. I had herceptin and didn’t have too many problems with it - in fact I think as I recall that I didn’t go to work after as wanted to give myself a bit of time to relax after and make sure I was ok. All was good. The side effects are nothing like chemotherapy - some people have a bit of tiredness which is cumulative but definitely not nearly as bad as chemo.

Ruby xx

Hi Westie,

I think the problem with a lot of the comments on side effects of herceptin are clouded by the fact that everyone has been on chemo. Many of the side effects I believe are a result of that. Because a course of chemo that has ravaged your body has finished it doesn’t mean all the side effects stop within 3 weeks of the last one. I had a gap of 2 months before moving on to herceptin. It was more a last resort as I had exhausted all chemos then found to have been her2+++. I do not think I have experienced any side effects from herceptin having been on it now for nearly 6 years.

I hope that you won’t experience any but you do need to give your body time to recover from chemo. Good luck.

Dawn
xx

Hi Westie