husband wont look at scar

This is my first time ever talking on- line. I don’t even know if I’m in the right category but I really need to understand how I should be feeling. My husband has not looked at my mastectomy scar. Also we have not made love in 16 weeks , the day before my surgery. Yesterday I tried to talk to him about it and all he said was that it was scary for him. I need some advice I want to be understanding but I cant help but think if he cant face this its probably time for divorce. someone please help me to understand his thinking. I’m so upset and I have never felt so alone in my life.

Honey dont panic you are still very vulnerable and he isnt helping but it doesnt mean he doesnt love you.He doesnt have to look at the scar to know it is there.making love could be a prob because he is afraid of hurting you.He is also hurting FOR you.How about a few gentle cuddles lots of talking and no mention of divorce.Hang on to each other this will pass and all will be well.16wks really isnt long you must both be in shock.lol horace

Have just read your post. I am sure that both you and your husband’s emotions are all over the place just now. As Horace says it is probably fear of hurting you and also hurting for you.

If it is any help, there are two booklets on the Breast Cancer Care website which you can order or print off in PDF. You can also read them on screen.

In it Together – for partners of people with breast cancer.

Sexuality, Intimacy and Breast Cancer is the other one.

I hope this is some help to you and please give both yourself and your husband time to come to terms with and understand what you are both going through. It is a long and emotional journey.

Lots of love
Thistle

Hi kavasqu

I have given here the links to the two publications which Thistle mentions, I do hope you find them useful:

breastcancercare.org.uk/docs/inittogether_web_0.pdf

breastcancercare.org.uk/docs/bcc_sexuality_0.pdf

Kind regards

Katie
Breast Cancer Care