monitoring after treatment

monitoring after treatment

monitoring after treatment Hi,
This is my first time on the forum. Could someone please tell me how I will be monitored after treatment? Scans etc? This is my 3rd diagnosis - this time it took 2 months for them to do needle test, (just had clear mammogram first) then after suspicious results the consultant told me that I did not have bc. After biopsy changed his mind but refused to let me see onc. (Had 2nd op 8 yrs ago and never seen an onc - was about to be discharged).Couldn’t give me a date for necessary liver/bone scans so had to go private. Had op - 15/16 nodes positive - still refused to let me see onc - so had to get GP to refer me privately. Now having chemo - FEC + tax but haven’t been given a definite answer as to how I’ll be monitored later. They don’t know whether the c. is a new primary or a secondary or where it is. I feel so let down this time, have asked to change consultatnt.
chrissied

Helpline Dear Chrissied

Please feel free to contact our confidential freephone helpline number for more information and support regarding the queries you have about continued monitoring, the helpliners will also be able to advise you about how you can access further professional advice in your area .

The helpline number is 0808 800 6000 Monday to Friday 9am-5pm and Saturday 9am-2pm.

Kind regards
Forum Host
Breast Cancer Care

Hi Chrissie So sorry you’ve had yet another diagnosis. I can’t believe how obstructive your consultant has been. With so many positive nodes chemo was inevitable and it’s totally unacceptable that you weren’t referred to the onc at once. I’m glad that your chemo has started and wish you every success with it.