newly diagnosed

My BC diagnosis and treatment started in Oct 2006.

After mths of blood tests then 3 dif scans, I now have a diagnosis of lung cancer, presuming BC mets. No biopsy yet, but scan conclusive. All of these tests were done via my GP, who today refered me to a consultant. I am devastated. Shocked that it took so long to get to this point, and very worried now that it could be too late for affective treatment. I’ve had severe fatigue, aches and pains, but no cough etc, until this week when I have suddenly got a lot of phlegm, a cough and tight chest.

My mind is racing. I am a teacher, and know if I can hang on for a short while longer, I’ll get paid over the summer, and I need this cash, as husband also ill and I’m the only breadwinner and only part time as it is. Its a private school so no protection or long term full pay etc. But I resent my shortened life being taken over by this all consuming crazy job. I so do not want to go in to work next week.

When do I tell my grown up kids? My Dad died from Lung Cancer, it was a horrible death, I am so scared. But also. I was desperate to spend as much time as possible with him, and think they will be upset if I don’t tell them sooner rather than later, but I know they will take it really bad, as will my older grandchildren. We are very close.

Its so dam unfair. Just offloading to those who know. Because of my Dad, I’ve even though about assisted dying. He lost all his dignity, which was so cruel, I can’t bare that thought.

Thanks for reading

Hi