preparing young children for hair loss

This is my first time on the discussion forum. I am due to start chemo on 5th Jan and I am really worried about how to prepare my young children for the side effects that will be happening pretty rapidly. I’m really scared that my oldest (11) will be embarassed by the baldness and that my youngest (3) will not realise why Mummy can’t play with her at the moment. Any tips on how to tell them about the months ahead would be gratefully received.

Hi Ayoud and welcome to the forums,

I am sure you will receive lots of valuable support and information from your fellow users very soon.

In addition, I have copied links to three of BCC’s publications which I hope will be useful, a couple of them discuss talking to children about different aspects of breast cancer and treatments. Our helpliners are also there for you if you need a listening ear, the staff are all either breast care nurses or people who have personal experience of breast care issues so do give them a call if you feel it would help. The number for the helpline is 0808 800 6000, lines open Mon-Fri 9am-5pm and Sat 9am-2pm

Younger women with BC: breastcancercare.org.uk/content.php?page_id=671

Talking with children: breastcancercare.org.uk/content.php?page_id=669

Mummy’s Lump: breastcancercare.org.uk/content.php?page_id=12221

Best wishes
Lucy

Hi Ayoud

My son was nearly three when I started chemo. I spent a lot of time explaining to him that I had to have extra-special medicine that would do all sorts of things to make me better. I told him that to help me get better I was going to shave all my hair off and that it would be OK because it would grow back. We made up stories about it and about how I would feel a little bit like a hedgehog.