reconstruction with bone secondaries

Hi anyone out there, I am fairly new to this but it seems an excellent plkace to get advice! Six years ago I had a mastectomy the usual follow up treatments the TRAM reconsruction. Last year I had another mastectomy for another primary lobular carcinoma. Six months ago bone mets where picked up on a DEXA.
I am very well, no pain, tumour markers normal. Today I asked my oncologist about reconstruction and he nearly fell off his chair. He did eventually concede that given my current stable health I could be in the percentage of women who do live longer than 3 years after diagnosis.He reckons though he doesn’t know of any women who have had reconstruction with known secondary disease. Does anybody else?

really need to check my spellings before I press submit!

Can’t help with the reconstruction question but am curious about your bone secondaries being picked up on a dexa scan. Is this the scan that detects bone density? I thought it wasn’t possible for bone mets to be picked up through this type of scan. I had one recently and it came back that I had osteopenia, the precursor to osteoporosis, but was worried that it was something else at first, mets being the obvious one.

Hi Kristine, I had a mastectomy in May this year and was offered thisoption as I was diagnosed last year in June and secondaries in bones. I have been advised that I can have reconstruction next year which will be 12 months after my treatment. Hope this helps and you get what you want xxx

Thankyou. Thats helpful. Take care and good luck xxx

Just found this thread. I am in exactly the same position. Found I had got bone secondaries after mx, chemo and rad. At the time of my mx, i did say that i wanted a reconstruction and then after the news that it had spread, i didnt think i would be able to have one.

Just one question, if anyone knows, will having a reconstruction make it spread and then end up worse off, if you have bone secondaries?
thanks all

Hi all,