retiring on grounds of illhealth

Has anyone retired on grounds of ill health, and how ill do you have to be etc etc/
I have put a request in, but not sure how ill you need to be.
This is my third recurrence, and feel unable to do my job, mentally and physically, I work in Operating Theatres, and just don’t want to be there. This time I have had my armpit removed and mastectomy. but no chemo, which they are saving till later.
I have about 12 years service, and aged 53, 54 in March.
Any views welcome.
Ann

Hi Ann,
I was a senior sister/ward manager and had 21 years service in the NHS. I worked in acute medicine and haematology.I took ill health retirement last March and it was the best thing for me. I know things changed last April and there is now a ‘two tier’ system so I am not sure how it works. You can find out on the NHSPA web site. I retired on psychological and medical grounds. I was 52 when I retired and did not have secondaries. The psychological part was that I had an adjustment disorder and could not cope caring for patients with cancer, patients who were dying , in fact any one that was ill!! The physical part was because I have a small degree of lymphoedema, mainly in my breast and under my arm.
The secret is to get occupational health on your side and all your doctors etc. When I sent in my application I had reports from my occupational therapist, oncologist, lymphoedema nurse and psychologist. I also wrote a report as to how I felt etc. It was stressed that having lymphoedema stopped me being able to nurse effectively and that I was at risk of it becoming worse. My psychologist wrote that it would be detrimental to my mental health if I was to return to work.