71712members
376146posts
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why do different hospitals favour different chemo regimes???

18 REPLIES 18
raywitch

Re: why do different hospitals favour different chemo regimes???

Hello Glenna,
What trial are you on prior to your lumpectomy? I was on a trial of neo-adjuvant femara prior to my lumpectomy. I can find anyone the same as me.
Rachel

evie2007

I agree glenna- as a midwife i see that with every different woman!

RE chemo regimes-

I have clear nodes, clear margins and "only" a 20mm lump but i will have chemo, radio and tamoxifen because of my age.

glenna

Hi folks
Might have some sort of answere for you as a nurse I have some insight but this is NOT my speciallity.

What I do know is medicine is not an exact science and everyone reacts differently.
e.g with me I'm going on a trial prior to lumpectomy, chemo and radio (oh joy) but 1st they had to see what hormones receptors my particular lump had, so although all may appear the same there can be small differences in the tumors and also differences in how they will respond to various treatments.

Also all doctors are people and I know for a fact 6 consultants can have 6 different oppinions on the best course of action for a patient. None of these oppinions are necessarily better or worse than the other just different, like taking different roads to get to the same place.
There are nationwide guidelines for a lot of cancer treatments but again I think there may be variations depending on the various results and reactions of the individual involved.

It is a part of ALL medical peoples code of conduct to keep up to date with treatments etc inorder to give the best possible care to their patients.

Hope this is of some help.

Lily200

Hi ,