young and worried

Hi All,
I’m new to this, have been reading for a few days now and though I would post. First of all I’ll give you a little history, I’m 26 and a mother of 2. I felt a small lump in my right breast around 4 months ago, however at this time I was very busy with uni work and in the middle of a house move so I brushed it off and forgot about it. Anyway on friday I was due to get my contraceptive implant taken out and go on the combi pill. Whilst there the very nice female doctor asked me all the routine questions, I finally pluck up the courage and mentioned the ‘lump’. I had convinced myself that there was nothing there and it was all in my head, anyway this wasn’t the case and she knew excately where it was without me telling her. I have since been referred to the breast clinic, as an urgent case and ahve an appointment for the 1/4/2010. I have had many people tell me not to worry it probabaly nothing, but I just can’t help but think what if it is. I keep being told that with no family history and my young age the likely hood of it being BC is rare, but I just keep thinking it happens. I have since noticed some other changes to my breast, I don’t know whether this is just my mind working overtime or what. I just can’t think straight which is making life tough, as I have a dissertation due in on the 23/4/2010 that I have hardly looked at, I can’t wait till Thursday at least I’ll no one way or another the waiting is driving me mad.

x

Hi ionaday

Welcome to the BCC forums where i am sure you will receive lots of support and information from your fellow users. In addition I have posted a link below to the BCC publication ‘Referral to a breast clinic’ which you may find helpful to read:

breastcancercare.org.uk/healthcare-professionals/publications/quick-order-list/*/changeTemplate/PublicationDisplay/publicationId/59/

You are also welcome to call our confidential helpline for further support on 0808 800 6000, it’s open weekdays 9-5 and Sat 9-2.