Work options during radiotherapy

Hello,

I’ve had a lumpectomy and 2 nodes removed. I’m currently having radiotherapy (I didn’t need chemo) and continuing to work full time but I’m not 100% focused on work at the moment, muddling my way through it. 

Today I feel very tired, sick after treatment for the first time and overall fed up. I joined the company in April, fairly new, and my boss visits the office once a week or every 2 weeks. He mentioned to me the company can help in any way a number of times before I started radiotherapy. 

The radiotherapy staff seem surprised I’m working throughout and mentioned some people are off work until the end of treatment.

I really want to do the best for me but unsure what that is…  I’m conscious I’m still fairly new at the company and this is affecting my decisions about my work options.

Thank you

Hi Hchie

Maybe keeping working is also your way of managing the emotional impact of a bc diagnosis, surgery and radiotherapy, in which case carry on as you are but make it clear to your line manager(s) that you are less than 100% and they can’t expect different. If you’re in a job where mistakes or oversights have a big impact on others, maybe discuss the options if you feel the need to work rather than flop with fatigue, wrapped in a duvet with daytime telly for company.