Diagnosis 5 days ago

Hi All 

I am new to this I’ve joined to get tips & advice I’m scared I feel like I’ve become a needy person overnight I’ve sobbed I’ve screamed and I’m not sleeping well with worry I have 2 lumps in left breast i have had 2 biopsies ( painful) I am struggling to even look at my breast right now I know I’m being silly I also know that I’m not alone in this & i just need inspiration I am usually a strong positive person I’m looking forward to hearing all of your journeys ?

Hi ,

I am so sorry to hear about your diagnosis. All your feelings are very normal, I went through the same in January. I think the first few weeks are the most worrying when your consultant is determining your treatment. My journey began in December last year just before Christmas ! I had found a lump near my nipple . Went to the doc and was fast tracked to the hospital - saw a consultant about four days later ! Nothing showed on the mammogram and the ultrasound but she did a biopsy! She was 99% sure she would be writing to me to say all was ok but I had a call from the hospital on New Year’s Eve asking me to come in on the 2nd January ! I was diagnosed with a grade 2 invasive lobular cancer . The cancer likes to feed off oestrogen so I was put on Letrozole to stop any oestrogen ! I had one lumpectomy to begin with and three lymph nodes removed . unfortunately she couldn’t get clear margins so two weeks later had another op !! Turned out luckily my lymph nodes were clear but unfortunately she couldn’t get clear margins again so ended up with a mastectomy but opted for reconstruction at the same time ! That is coming up to seven months ago now but still recovering although back to doing lots again ! I had 15 sessions of radiotherapy which left me very tired !