Emma is a bit scared and needle phobic!

Hi all
I had an early call age 48 on 21 Dec and a recall letter on evening of 10 Jan after work for 9.30 appt at Southmead on 11 Jan. Tild it was BC an d confirmed as early stage 2/3 this week,

I survived my biopsy with tears, lots of, now have GA plus loads of other stuff to go through. I’m normally a strong, confident person but this diagnosis has rendered me useless.

Running out of sick pay and work sympathy as i’m not technically ‘sick’.

Any tips or words of wisdom will be gratefully received. Especially during these long nights.

Emma.

Hi Emma,
The early days of diagnosis are the worst, we’ve all been there, but it will settle down.
As far as work is concerned… honestly ‘not technically sick!’ What do they expect then, that you don’t have treatment & carry on as normal?
If you’re not already aware, with a cancer diagnosis, we come under the Equalities Act which means employers cannot discriminate & have a duty to make reasonable adjustments. It might be an idea to seek further advice on this, others here have found Macmillan helpful in employment rights.
It is such a rollercoaster at this stage, so it’s quite usual to feel the way you do. Some days we feel we can do anything & other days collapse in a heap, so just go with it.
This stage does pass, when the treatment plan is confirmed & we know what we’re dealing with.
Sending hugs
ann x

Hi Emma