Managing others positivity?

I have been diagnosed with only 6 days from investigation to diagnosis, completely.out of the blue. I am having a complete roller-coaster of emotions and am struggling with people telling me to be positive, when being told there is almost a 20% chance I won’t see my child reach 21 makes me miserable and terrified. I work in the health care sector, but never in this area, so it’s as new to me as anyone else. I know all my emotions are very normal, but having always been one of life’s copers I am struggling to see anything positive in my future at the moment. 

How do you cope with being told to be positive by people who are trying to be supportive, but cant really understand as none of them actually have been through it? 

Hi lizandsarah,
Sorry to find you here, but glad you found us.
The early days of diagnosis are the pits & you’re in shock at the moment.
The responses of others is something we can all relate to, often others mean well, but don’t hit the right note. Before I was diagnosed, I now realise I was guilty of it myself.
It’s really best to avoid stats, they are not specific to you, are based on treatment outcomes from 10-20 years & do not reflect the lastest advances in treatment. Even on current stats, the usual outcome is that you will be fine well into the future as the bast majority of us are.
It does feel better once the treatment plan is in place & things do settle down. There’s loads of support here whenever you need it. We’ve all been there!
ann x