Marriage and Tamoxifen

Hello,

I’m new to this site and had seen similar posts that were older but figured I’d post a similar new post to see what pops up and hopefully help someone.

My wife and I have been together for 17 years married 14.  She/we have had a really rough past five years.  We lost her mom unexpectedly, which drove my wife into a deep depression.  Shortly after she found out she had breast cancer, and we spent the last four years going through the process.  She endured 22 surgeries for a single mastectomy and reconstruction.  When we think we are on the home stretch she had to have both ovaries removed.  And had been on Tamoxifen for years already.

Life has been unbelievably rough for us, three steps forward two back.  Tamoxifen really makes life difficult for us both.  It’s truly a miracle we are together still, the medication makes her even crazier and unpredictable then she was before.  Ha.

Im no gem, I’m a vet with two combat tours. I’ve learned the hard way on how to manage stress, mental issues, depression, anxiety…

Life has been rough!  Tamoxifen serves a great purpose but what it does to the person taking it is maddening.  And having to live with, work with, take care of is double so.

All that said, it’s not her fault.  And I have to remind myself of it multiple times a day.  She chooses not to help with things, or pickup something, or clean…  instead she’ll go sit somewhere by her self.  I’m like hello, we are adults with a kid, pets, a home, jobs.  Like hello please help me!!  But it’s not her fault.  And it’s sooooooooo hard to be there for her.  But if someone who knows her better than anyone, and has spent the last 17 years with her can’t find a way to help her, who will?  She’s already dealing with something out of her control, I just try to be her rock.