Delay mastectomy for immediate reconstruction?

hello everyone

This is my first time on here and I’m hoping for people’s advice.

After finding a lump and numerous tests I was diagnosed with grade 1 tubular cancer in my right breast on Friday. Due to having a second area on the same breast I have been told I need a mastectomy which has been booked for just under 2 weeks time on 4th January. 

After seeing the consultant on Friday a BCN spent time explaining the operation, prostheses, recovery and shielding due to covid.  She also said that the MDT had said that I am a candidate for reconstruction as they haven’t seen any sign of cancer in my lymph nodes (although I will be having a sentinel lymph node biopsy to confirm) so hopefully I will not need radiotherapy. 

She talked about the different types of reconstruction and I think I was a bit naive as I hadn’t realised a delayed reconstruction would be so difficult due to the lack of skin etc, having to go through the expander process as well as the insertion of an implant. I have quite small boobs (A cup) and don’t fancy the tissue being taken from another area of my body so am veering towards the implant option. 

The problem is, if I choose immediate reconstruction my surgery will have to be delayed to the beginning of February as there isn’t time for it in the current theatre slot. 

I am torn as the idea of getting everything sorted at once seems better than having to undergo further surgeries at a later date.  However, I am nervous about delaying, what if covid means surgeries are impacted, will I have to be in hospital longer with immediate reconstruction and will the recovery and risks be greater.  I awaiting a call back from my BCN and obviously I will not consider the delay if it is advised against due to my cancer growing. 

I feel after a slow few weeks getting to diagnosis I am know rushed with little or no time to consider options and make choices.