Mastectomy

I am 48 year old a physical therapist by profession. I am going to undergo a mastectomy on my right breast leaving the lymph nodes out next month and I am just worried about the outcome. How long will the recovery be and will the surgery affect the strength on my right arm. Will I be able to handle lifting heavy patients to walk or transfer as part of therapy? Will I be effective as a therapist since I am the breadwinner in my family. Just need some input on what to expect. Thanks

Hi Charina, I had a left sided mastectomy in November 17 and was off work for a month afterwards.  I’d say heavy lifting is a no no for some time but you can get on with light weight activities fairly quickly.  Here’s my blog with lots of tips on how I coped Lifeafterlola.com

im pretty much back to normal now except for some numbness in the armpit and slight stiffness/pulling when I raise my arm to 10 o’clock position.  Xxx

Hi Charina

I had a mx 3 weeks ago. I’m back driving, doing normal housework stuff, good range of movement, keeping up with exercises, just not lifting anything heavy yet. I’m not working but if I was, in my old job… paed nurse, I probably would have expected to be off for at least a couple of months. You might look at a phased return to work when you are ready to go back… get occupational health involvement? Xx

Hi Charina

Can I just check whether you are having the nodes removed at the same time as your mastectomy as that will make a bit of a difference in the advice you will be given.