Chemo Survival Kit - suggestions needed!

Hello all, 

Newbie here :slight_smile: In less than 2 weeks, my sister will be starting chemotherapy (4 cycles over 18 weeks) for breast cancer.

She’s the first in the family to have chemo so while we’re entirely positive, we’re new to it all!

I’ve been spending some time looking through the forums here as well as on the Macmillan website, putting together a list of things I can put into a ‘Chemo Survival Pack’ - so far I’ve got things like a water bottle to stay hydrated (keeps the veins plush apparently), boiled sweets to counteract any metal taste, a child’s toothbrush for sensitive gums and a thermometer (I’m told this is an essential!)

Does anyone have any other suggestions of things that could go in there?

Ultimately, the idea is to give her a box of things she may well think are a bit odd but will be massively grateful for somewhere down the line! 

Of course, we can’t prepare for everything and there are a lot of unknowns but I’m the organised one in the family so here I am haha. 

All your suggestions will be warmly welcomed :slight_smile:

Peace out and all the best, 

YorkshireLass87 

x

A lovely thought. :slight_smile:

My list would include ginger biscuits, ginger fudge, eye wipes for sensitive eyes, packet of polo’s, eye mask in order to block the daylight when snoozing in the day, factor 50 sunblock, a house plant or flowers to bring the outdoors indoors when snoozing, diprobase cream for any rashes, peppermint essential oil to sniff if there is any nausea, audio books as reading may be too tiring, miso soup (very nutritious although can be high in salt) honey and maple syrup in order to get some nutrients with the sweetness, Epsom sea salts for a detox bath, a selection of cordials/herbal teas, jelly beans, a bar or box of yummy chocolates.