Bone biopsy of Humerus

Recently diagnosed with secondary breast cancer 12 years after initial mastectomy.

Diagnosed in April and initially put on Letrozole which I found uncomfortable due to aches and pains so Dr took me off.

Have had MRI, CT and Bone dexity scans which Dr initially thought was enough to get a full picture of the cancer spread…

Now been told I have to have a Bone biopsy next Tuesday and I am dreading it.  I understand there won’t be anymore then a local aneasetic  given and I am not good with pain.

I am dreading it and am terrified as I am already in a lot of pain from my shoulders, arms and hips which is where the main mets are

Really would appreciate hearing from others that have had a bone biopsy to explain exactly what I can expect.

Hi mounties,

I had a biopsy of my sternum about 2 years ago.

They gave me sedation as well as a local anaesthetic, so it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be!

I just felt a bit of pressure when they did the biopsy.

They used a CT scanner to locate the correct place, but I’m not sure if they do this in all cases.

Hope this helps,

Meg

I had a biopsy of my sternum last year. Before biopsy,  I was given IV which I think that was for the local anaesthetic. The whole process from entering into the room and got out of the room took about 25 mins. The first few minutes I was left alone in a room and was told they would use the CT scanner to locate the biopsy area. I closed my eyes for the whole time the doctor did the biopsy.Like what Mac61 said, no pain and just a bit of pressure. When they told me to open my eyes, they were already cleaning the blood (?) on my chest. I took shower that night. I peeled off the 2in x2in bandage couple days later and  saw only a sightly red dot in that area.

Hi, I found out I had secondaries as my humerus fractured and was pain and could hardly move it.