cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No longer responding to exemestane

9 REPLIES 9

Re: No longer responding to exemestane

Hi Nicky,

Just like to thank you for your response.I shall ask questions neck time I see my Onicoligist which will be the 15th August.This will be the date my scan report will be talked about.

take care.

xxx

Community Champion

Hi Walsh

In reply to your question I'm no expert, I've just learnt (and made myself learn) about the treatments along the way.  Because I've had so many different ones in my 11 years of mets I guess I've researched quite a bit!

I think you should ask your oncologist why they are suggesting a certain type of chemo as opposed to an oral one.  The one thing I do remember though is that some chemo's are not prescribed unless you have had a previous type beforehand.  This I think is due to the trial conditions when the drugs are first tested out.  This is the case of Eribulin which can't be prescribed unless you've had at least one (different) type of chemo beforehand (or this was the case when I had it back in 2017).  I have a feeling this might also be the case with Capecitabine but, again, criteria may have changed since I had it back in 2013.  Having said that it doesn't mean it wouldn't be an option at some point. 

I know this might not help that much but that's one of the things I have been aware of when I have had different treatments especially chemo's.  I've also learnt that not all oncologists go down a particular route regarding treatment, some choose one type of chemo over another which can be based on their own observations.  As we, as patients, aren't all exactly the same it's not surprising that we don't all follow the same treatment plan.

As I said earlier though I would ask your oncologist and they should be able to explain why they have chosen a particular treatment and you should tell them your worries, hopefully they can help you with them.

Good luck

Nicky x

Hi nicky