Newly diagnosed with TNBC

Hi,

I’m just starting out on this roller coaster having been diagnosed with TNBC a few days ago. I was told that the biopsies, scans etc showed cancer in the lymph nodes under my arm, the breast itself and the skin (biopsy taken from a red mark about an inch above my nipple). To say I’m terrified is putting it mildly.

I have an appointment with the oncologist next week and will start chemo a week or 2 after that. I’ve not got all the details yet, I suppose that is what I’ll get at the oncologist appointment, but the consultant told me that I’ll have 6 rounds of chemo 3 weeks apart then I’ll have a mastectomy to remove the left breast. The consultant also said that I’d lose my hair and that surgery first before chemo wasn’t an option as they wouldn’t get it all away. 
I’m just so shocked just now and would welcome any tips on dealing with what’s ahead of me and any support, words of advice or stories of positive outcomes from anyone on here who’s going or has gone through a similar diagnosis and treatment. Thanks. 

4 Likes