Phased return to work help - Education

I’m an experienced teacher on UPS3 and have been teaching fulltime since 1996. Supported by my school really well. I teach KS1 usually and have two teachers currently covering my Year 2 class. I’ve been off since the start of the academic year, so have not taught this class at all.

My active treatment should end in March and I’m hoping to go back to work after Easter.

Occupational health spoke to me in September where the Dr advised I couldn’t work because of treatment and Covid, he’s going to ring me again in Feb/March time with a view to discussing my phased return to work.

Has anyone had experience of negotiating a phased return to work at all within school?  I don’t want to teach a class initially as my confidence is really knocked and I need to build that up again.

Can I suggest shorter days, building up to longer? I’m thinking that my head will suggest me teaching small booster groups initially but moving onto teaching a class occasionally but until closer to the time I won’t really know.

If anyone has any experience of this I’d be glad to hear what you did.

Thanks

Hi Louby_lou

I think it’s very courageous for you to consider a return to teaching after Easter. In one way, I can see it will help build your confidence, ready for your next year group in September. But do listen to your oncologist’s advice before Occupational Health. Covid really does muddy the waters and you are going into the age group with the highest current infection rate. Maybe by March, all the little ones will have had it, spread it to their families and everyone has immunity. We can hope!