2 out of 5

My mother recently had a mastectomy 3 tumours were found and removed… MRI and bone scans were clear,however I’ve been told 2 out of 5 lymphnodes are abnormal. They will now proceed to remove the rest and test them and then go for chemo.

My question is … how bad is this? If scans were clear can’t they just remove effected lymphs? , how effective is chemo.

Hello The_son1

Whilst waiting for support and shared experiences from other users maybe you would like to call our free helpline on 0808 800 6000 and talk to one of our staff who are there to offer support, lines are open again in the morning and normal hours are weekdays 9-5 and Sat 10-2…

Best wishes

June, moderator

Hi. Not sure if you’ve had a response. I am not a doctor and suggest you ask them but usually, whilst the scans show no evidence of spread if there is cancer in the lymph nodes then that increases the chances of the cancer being in the lymph system. It may not have spread anywhere yet but they can’t rule out that it might be on its way. Chemo will flush through her whole system and give the best chance of killing off any cells that may have escaped into the lymph system or blood stream. You’ll need to speak to the oncologist to find out what your mum can expect her chemo to achieve. Hope that’s helpful.