A bit scared

Dear all, Am a newbie here so please be gentle!

Just wanted to share really as am feeling a bit anxious, although, I must admit reading your different stories etc does make me feel more positive.

I discovered a lump a couple of months ago, had mamo, u/s, fine needle etc as they thought it was a cyst. (a complex cyst) went back six weeks later and was no change. consultant said would rather take whole lump out rather than core biopsy. He said there were calcifications? and other fibrous tissue which he was unsure of. I recovered well from surgery and was doing fine, until now! I go for my results this week and am starting to get really scared, I don’t really want to go. I know that sounds stupid but just want to bury my head in the sand! Sorry for rambling and as I say, you all sound so positive and friendly - I felt I could come here just to have a rant!

Love,

Debs

Hi Debs,

Sorry you’ve had to join us here but you’ve come to the right place as you’ll get a warm welcome and lots of support. Have you checked out all the information sheets? There’s a lot of really useful information there to help you understand it all.

I remember dreading the results meeting before my dx but in the end I realised that one way or another you just have to know. It’s the not knowing that’s the hardest bit - I always felt like I was in some kind of limbo land. Once I got the results and a plan of action was in place, even though I was scared about what it all meant, it was good to know that something was now being done about it.

Is it possible to take someone with you to the meeting to hold your hand? I really couldn’t have got through it without my husband there to help and he remembered to ask all the questions I forgot about too.

Remember that fear of the unknown is the hardest bit to deal with and that we’ll support you through it, whatever the results turn out to be.