About to start CMF - help!

Hi,
I’m new to this, never posted anything on here before. Often come on for a look though. Have however reached the stage where I think I need some friendly support. I’m on Epi/CMF with radiotherapy in the middle. Have just finished radiotherapy which was a pleasant experience after the epi! I had rather a rough time with the Epi and am now dreading the CMF. I start this on Thursday 19th, don’t know too much about it yet and already beginning to feel nauseated!! Any good advice on how to cope with this in a more relaxed, positive way!
Kitty

Hi Kitty,

I too was on Epi - Cmf, Tact 2 Trial last year. Finished Last November 06. Like you I had an awful time on the Epi. But the CMF was let me say more tolerable. It was tablets and two injections every 4 wks. The Epi had ruined my veins so it took a while to find a vein but I can only talk to you about my own experience and after the Epi it was a walk in the Park!!
Each person reacts differently to different chemo regimes. I did not feel sick on CMF and went about my daily chores so to speak. Obviously take your anti-sickness meds and hopefully you will be fine. I am still on 3 wkly Herceptin and wont finish my treatment till Feb 08. Drink plenty of fluids - Water.
Good Luck
Hope all goes well for you
Take Care
Tracey
xxxxx

Hiya Kitty,

I too am on E-CMF (on the TACT 2 trial so my epi was every 2 weeks). I had my first (day 1) CMF last weds and I’m going for my day 8 tomorrow. I had quite a good time on Epi so managed to wind myself right up before going for my 1st CMF last week thinking that I would have a really hard time on it (as I couldn’t be ‘lucky’ twice).