advice about reconstruction

Hello 

I have been diagnosed with low grade DCIS but as yet have not had my final diagnosis . This is due this Monday . All I know is I have widespread DCIS . I have seen my pictures and the calcifications seem to be wide apart although Im no expert. The consultant has already suggested possible mastectomy. I cannot see how this can be avoided if I have widespread DCIS . So Im trying to read up on reconstructions …if anybody can offer their experience on types of reconstruction I would be very interested . The one thing that I have observed from reading so far is that noone has said with hindsight they would have chosen a different type of reconstruction . 

Hello Steph, 

I am sorry to hear that you have been recently diagnosed, I am sure some of our forum users will be along to offer some support soon.

In the meantime you may be interested in using our Someone Like Meservice which puts you in touch with one of our trained volunteers who have had personal experience of breast cancer and have experience of the issues you may be facing. We have volunteers who have had various different types of reconstruction and can talk to you about how they made their choice and how they feel now. 

If you would like to use the Someone Like Me service please do get in touch by email on: someonelikeme@breastcancercare.org.uk or by calling the service directly on 0114 263 6490.

Warm wishes,

Collette

Service Worker (Someone Like Me).

HI Steph,