Advice needed…. Newbie here!

I’m really looking for some advice please…. I found a lumpy area under my arm and have been to the drs… they have referred me to the local breast clinic and I should find out early next week when my appt is. My question is, how do I stop myself going crazy in the meantime! I’m normally quite a rational person but my mind is going to the scariest of places… I have teenage children and have no idea how I will tell them if it’s bad news!!
Any words of wisdom gratefully received…

5 Likes

Hello @fingerscrossed1

I’m sorry you find yourself here and you are going through such worrying time at the moment

The truth is, you don’t have cancer until you are told you have cancer and fears are not facts.

You will only get the answers you need from one source and that will be the doctors who check and test everything so try (I know it’s hard!) not to second guess or google anything: information is often out of date and isn’t going to tell you about you (if you get what I mean)

Dealing with fears and anxieties is difficult but ultimately the answers are within you, it’s find those things that you/your mind likes to do whether that is exercise, cooking, baking, knitting, endless box sets whatever works for you do it (and don’t feel guilty about doing it!)

Wishing you all the best for your referral appointment and fingers crossed you don’t have cancer. Having said that (and it’s a big IF) please be assured that breast cancer is a very very treatable disease and you probably walk past people in the street every day who’ve been through breast cancer treatment

AM xxx

7 Likes

Thank you so much for taking the time to reply to me. I really appreciate it x

4 Likes

Hi