Allergic reaction to Docetaxol

Well that wasn’t pleasant!
I had my 2nd round of Docetaxol Yesterday and had a severe allergic reaction meaning the infusion had to be discontinued.

It started with pain in my abdomen, rising to chest tightness, then very quickly my throat closing and feeling like i couldn’t breathe. Along with lower back pain.

Have to say the nurses in the unit was excellent and was with me sorting it in seconds. The infusion was stopped and i was given emergency drugs, Im a nurse myself and understand this is not uncommon and can happen with any drug especially given IV and often on the first or second go. it’s very scary when it happens though! But the reassurances from the nurses while they were dealing with the situation did calm me right down. They was telling me i was going to be ok and i would feel better the min i had the emergency drugs which i did.

Has anyone got similar experience of this and what chemo where you swapped too? i’m seeing the oncologist team next week .

lots of love xxx :kissing_heart:

1 Like

:heart:yes I had reaction on 2nd docetaxol, your oncologist might offer abraxane as alternative, quite a few over the years have switched to that no problem :heart: I chose to have another fec as that was my 6th chemo. It’s :flushed: when it happens but your team have seen it all before, but you want to run for the hills :running_woman:t3:‍:arrow_right: I know I did. You will get through :heart: be kind to yourself :heart:I’m sure others will pop on too who have had reaction to dietary​:two_women_holding_hands::heart::two_hearts::two_hearts::sparkles::sparkles:Shi xx

Thank you Shi, it does help to hear other peoples experiences. i appreciate that :heart: xxx

1 Like