Am I being mean?

My mum was diagnosed with breast cancer last July. She has had lumpectomy and rads. She is due to have her 1st mammogram post treatment today. I am a sister at the hospital she has been having her treatment at. The problem I have is not related to this really but whenever my mum has an appointment or when she was going through her rads, I could not bring myself to go with her. I am absolutely terrified of listening to the medical/surgical staff as they speak to her. I am shying away from any information. I cling onto every positive thing she tells me they have said to her. Am I being mean to my mum by not supporting her at her appointments? I cant even go with her today as I would probably be more of a nuisance to her and sit there trembling like a wreck! Please someone tell me this is normal for a daughter to feel. Do you think its because I am a nurse?

i don’t know if it’s because you’re a nurse-my husband hasn’t come with me and doesn’t want to know anything except the positives.has it upset your mum ? has she got someone to go with her ? i’m sure she knows you well and understands-hope she gets on ok x

Hi Cardains,
Everyone and every family is different; what is right for one may not be for another. A lot of people with cancer discover that people they are close to find it very difficult to cope with.

I wonder, does your Mum know how you feel? Have you explained that being a nurse makes it feel worse for you (I assume part of that is because you know how to interpret the insider language of medical professionals; also what you may have said to relatives in your own area of expertise)? Do you know if your Mum would want you with her? She might want to protect you too. Sometimes we are all so busy not saying how we feel and tying ourselves in knots that we don’t relaise that people pick up the clues anyway.