Am i pathetic?

Am i pathetic?

Am i pathetic? been having a few stresses at work recently, been working there for 12 years but new manager and me seem to have a problem, doesn’t help that she’s my brothers ex!!!

anyway to cut a long story short my friend advised me to go to doctors, which i did [have a fantastic GP] on wed., he said ’ i’m signing you off for 2 weeks to get yourself together’

i sat there talking to him with tears running down my face and i don’t know why…told him i felt pathetic and it was 2 and half years since diagnosis and i didn’t think i should be feeling like this…he said it takes longer than 2 and a half years.

wasn’t going to take the time off but have decided to, and have also spoke to manager and asked for a one to one with her to air issues,
which i’m going to do on tuesday…don’t think she was even aware there were any issues.

i’m a nursery nurse and we lost a young girl [19] last month from another branch of the nursery to cancer last month, my auntie has been diagnosed with bone secondaries after 15 years, my sister-inlaws sister was diagnosed with BC just before xmas, my friend was diagnosed with liver secondaries last year and my sister-in-law has non-hodgkins lymphoma…so me moaning bout work just makes me feel pathetic!

sorry to go on
karen

Of course … … you’re not pathetic, Karen.

It sounds to me that things have been building up for some time, and now they’ve come to a head.

People don’t realise how distressing a diagnosis of cancer can be, and what it does to your mind, let alone your body! These cases of cancer you cite must have brought it all back - not that it ever really went away …

Good luck with your manager next week.

Mcgle