ANy info or ideas?

Hi folks
Just got back from hospital after mastectomy with immediate recon (the expander implant one) and am very painful. It eases a bit each day though. The mastectomy op etc was made worse by my having a chest infection (ie awful cough which hurt every time I did it) and 4 days of nausea and not being able to eat.

well I am back home and happily able to scoff chinese takeaways. NOW my problem was the shock of being told yesterday that they will be wanting me to have chemo. I was told I wouldn;t need it.

So Can I go back to work with the chemo or do I need to wait till it;s all over? I am a teacher and I’ve had 1 week off so far but really can’t imagine being at home for months. Secondly…How bad does it get? The nausea after the op was bad enough!

I’m 35 by the way and have a grade one cancer (no lymph nodes affected) which is why I THOUGHT I would escape chemo. Apparently if I have it and the tamoxifen, some survuval statistic I don’t understand goes up from 3.9% for tamoxifen only to 6.9% chemo. Is that good?

Help clear this up for me please!

Ruth

Hi Ruth,

I am 35 too, was 34 when diagnosed in March. At the time of diagnosis, even before my mastectomy, I was told that I would be having chemo regardless, because of my age. As it turns out my tumour was grade 3 and I had lymph nodes involved too.

I started E-CMF chemo in May and finished it just over 2 weeks ago. I have not worked since diagnosis but am hoping for a phased return in Jan. Personally I don’t feel I could’ve worked during chemo. Don’t get me wrong, it is VERY doable, but I was just too much at risk of infection and stuff. Also, I would have a few days where I felt rough and then would be quite ok again. I’ll be bu**ered if I was gonna spend those precious ‘good’ days at work!! I have been very lucky though as I have remained on full pay throughout, I know many others that aren’t so fortunate and have no choice but to work.