Any one taking MST

Hi everyone

Just got back from seeing Onc with results of bone scan. I have got further bone spread in spine, sacral iliac joints and acetabulum (cup part of hip joint). This was not unexpexted as I have been having hip/leg pain and stiffness since finishing taxol in Mch (which didnt work). I am now on second cycle of Xeloda. Discussed dose of radiotherapy as stiffnes really restricting my walking at times but would have to postpone Xeloda by about 5 weeks as cant have together. Dont really want to do this. Onc suggested that I take MST which is a slow release morphine. I am a bit freaked by this as I feel that taking morphine is the beginning of the end. I know I shouldnt feel like this as I am a nurse and should know better but I was wondering if anyone else is taking MST for bone pain and if it has helped with their pain and are they having any side effects. I am currently taking co-codamol and voltarol which helps but doeasnt take pain away completeley. Have tried tramadol but felt spaced out and drowsy.

I also have lung and liver mets but dont have any pain from these.( touch wood)

Maddison

My wife has been on Morphine patches for two years now. Along with top up tablets they have left her virtually pain free all that time.

The patches are supposed to last 72 hours but we have noticed she seems to get " withdrawal " type symptoms after about 36 to 48 hours sometimes so now we change them at 48 hours regardless and us servidol tablets to top up.

Hop that helps a bit.

Terry

Hi Maddison