Back to work on 23rd!!!!!!

After having 11 months and 2 weeks off I will be returning back to work on the 23rd June. I was diagnosed last July and after therapeutic mammoplasty, chemo, radiotherapy and a reduction to my good boob I feel it is now time to look forwards and not backwards. I have had 7 doses of Herceptin, only 11 more to go.

I have kept in contact with my workmates throughout my treatment but it is only just recently that I haven’t cried when I have gone into work.

I work in a bank so I needed to get my confidence back before I went back. I work 18.5 hrs per week but I will be returning on a gradual return. I think it will be done over 6 weeks.

I don’t always post but I always read the threads and have picked up some good tips. So thank you all.

Love Angela

xxx

Hi Angela
great news take it easy dont overdo it.

Love Debsxxx

All the best for your return to work Angela, hope it goes really well.

magsi x

Thank you both for your comments. I am actually looking forward to going back to try and get some normality back in life.

Angela x

Hi Angela,
I went back to work about 10 weeks ago, I job share teaching in a nursery class so only do three days a week.
I also went back on a phased return working the first week intil 1p.m. then 2p.m. and so on.
However it was really tiring for the first few weeks, and as soon as I got home I went to bed for about an hour, which is so unlike me. So be prepared.
But its really good to be back, it certainly takes your mind of other things!! and its a great confidence boost to realise that you are still able to do the work, if that makes sense. Half of the children in my class were new having started in January when I was away, so to them I was an unknown person. Despite only being away 4 months I was slightly apprehensive as to whether I still had the skills needed - I soon relised that I did, as did the children!!