Bone scan

Hi there

I hope you can help! In 2013 I had cancer and treatments etc carried out!! I have had a recurrence but went for a bone scan today but when i had finished the scan they wanted to do extra ct to my pelvic area - quite worried - any advice would be appreciated! Thank you Jenna x

Hi Jenna I’m no expert but I think a bone scan gives a general picture of where there might be problems in your bones. If, having discovered something, they want to know more about it then they will do a CT scan. My bone mets were picked up on a CT scan of my abdomen which I had because I’d been having stomach pains. They then went on to do a bone scan to see which other bones might be affected.

Good luck and hugs x 

Thanks- they didnt do it in the end as I have a staging ct scan tomorrow so told me to go home! Hope your doing okay x x

Hiya Jenna
Best of luck for your scan for tomorrow and its good they are double checking and being very thorough.
You can enjoy the scan results diet then …it involves lots of trips to the loo but u do loose weight !! Ha ha
Let us know how u get on.
Hugs xxx

Hi carolyn52.

The ct i had today was just a normal ct scan and nothing mentioned about yesterdays bone scan!! X

Hi Jenna

The ct scan can show things clearer a bone scan will show spots which could be anything I have MS and when I have a bone scan the MS show hot spots so it can be confusing. My onc thought I could have a spinal cord compression once and although I had a MRI they also examined the last CT scan slice by slice so maybe this is what they may be doing with yours

I hope this will put your mind at rest.

Love and (((hugs)))  xxx

Hello marirose
Glad u posted as when I had bone scan they said it highlites “problem areas” but it doesn’t mean its all cancer …I wasent sure if this was correct as I’m rubbish with medical stuff but your comments confirm it.I think the scan can show arthritis and other bone wear.