breast reconstruction and refused help

hi i had a double mastectomy in april i packed up smoking in march when i found out and they refused a reconstruction straight away i took it on board as i just packed up smoking then i waited till the end of august and west suffolk refused again saying im obese and i have to be 30 or under bmi. i broke down in tears i was 32.29 bmi and i am on thyroxine with under-active thyroid and its now October my bmi of 31.9 and struggling to lose weight im exerciseing like mad and going to slimming world. i haven’t gone back to work i work in a factory im depressed and i wont let my husband near me so there pressure there too im normally a strong person never felt like this before and i feel guilty feeling like this i cannot get on with the false ones has any-one else been refused like this?

Hi there

Im really sorry to hear of your problems. Which of the factors seem to be most problematic for your surgical team? If it’s the BMI, then I dont understand how they set the criteria. I was assessed in Feb this year for a tram flap when I was 15.10 and he said he was happy to go ahead. Im now 14. 4 with a BMI of 32-still over the limit.
As for the smoking, Im lucky that Ive never been a smoker-I wouldnt have the will power to give up, so really well done to you.
My surgeon said the main criteria for surgery were:

No previous stomach surgery
Non smoker/given up for a decent period

I have to say that I went to an excellent BCC event about reconstruction. One of the pictures we were shown was the awful results of a TRAM op where the patient kept her smoking secret. It was really nasty and the surgeon said it took many many ops to repair.

I know you must be really fed up with the situation, but you have done brilliantly losing weight already, so hold onto the positives.