Cold cap, FEC-T and effective chemo treatment

So I started my 1st chemo treatment last week.  Just before my 1st treatment I felt like I had a head cold and mentioned it to the nurse.  I was diagnosed with triple negative breast cancer in Malaysia, had a lumsectomy where they found it had spread to 3 nodes.  They did a masectomy and were happy they had removed it but it was pretty aggressive.  So at my nurse appointment the nurse said if I continue to feel like I did they might need to do a scan as sometimes with breast cancer it can spread to the brain!  Not the right thing to say as I am now a little worried.  Given that I am having chemo I am kinda okay as surely the chemo goes everywhere and it should get anything if it spreads…but then I decided to use the cold cap.  So my question is, does the cold cap stop the chemo from treating the brain effectivley?  Am I being completely stupid with this?

Hi Minipixie
I have no medical knowledge but common sense would suggest that those cells that are protected from chemo by the cap, would also not be effectively treated by the chemo. This could be an oversimplification but I’d rather be bald for a while than let stray cancer cells lurk untreated.
Jacq x

Hello Minipixie1

Sending you a virtual hug and good wishes.

Well you  have enough to think about getting through your treatments without the additional worries.  We have so much to take into account and then we decide to torture ourselves with all worse case scenarios.  From what you  have stated, it would seem the nurse jumped the gun/maybe could have checked things out more with you. 

It is common to be checked for cancer spread prior to treatment commencing.  Did you have a scan prior to your treatment to check whether the cancer had spread, apart from in lymph nodes?  From what I know, it would be extremely rare for breast cancer to spread first to the brain.