Complete Newbie to forums etc

Hi, I’ve never written on a forum before, it’s taken me 45mins to work out how to do this :see_no_evil:
I was diagnosed with quite widespread DCIS in my left breast and invasive ductal carcinoma in my right breast. 7 days ago I had a bilateral mastectomy. I thought I was doing really well until I run out of codiene last night. I had cut down and thought I’d be okay with just cocodamol 8/500. Boy was a wrong! Hubby was great getting in touch with GP who prescribed more codiene. Is it normal to be still in this much pain a week later? I feel I’ve gone back a whole week. No sign of infection or anything that I can see. Although I am surprised I have had no check ups or even a phonecall. Still have 2 drains, I was told just to get in touch after 2 consecutive days of less than 30mls. Feel quite lonely tbh.

7 Likes

Sorry to hear you are struggling with the pain. I’m glad you have been able to get more codeine. I don’t think there is a ‘normal’ really, everyone responds differently and that’s ok, just make sure that you are getting what you need. I had very extensive DCIS and underwent a mastectomy with immediate DIEP flap reconstruction just 12 days ago. I really struggled with the pain at first but have suddenly turned a corner and am now coping fine with just paracetamol. Be kind to yourself and remember you have undergone very major surgery so it is going to take time for your body to heal. I hope the pain improves quickly xx

7 Likes

Good morning mrsdj,

So pleased you have come to the forum, not the place you you wanted to join , however, we are all here to help you as we’ve all been there ourselves. I’m so sorry you are uncomfortable

Please contact your breast cancer team this morning, your drains need to be checked, and possibly removed, you needed to be seen, hopefully you will get an appointment very soon.

Wishing you well going forward, please let us know how you’re getting on.