Dealing with feelings

Hi there - I am a bit new to all this and have never used a forum before. I was diagnosed 5 weeks ago with a IDC. I had a wide excision lumpectomy four weeks ago and a re op to meet the safety margin. Unfortunately that did not work so am scheduled for a mastectomy in 3 weeks time. I admit to struggling to get my head round this. I know its got to go so I can be healthy again but I am afraid of feeling ugly - and undesirable - probably more so as I am 48, divorced and dont have a partner but also because my self esteem is a bit low right now too. Any hints or tips from anyone who has found themselves with these feelings greatly appreciated. At the moment all I seem to notice wherever I go are healthy women with voluptuous breasts and I find it hard. Stupid I know

Its not stupid at all, its perfectly normal. We’ve all been in the same boat. You are still the same person, wether with one boob or two. You always have the option of having reconstruction surgery, which can be daunting. Trust in your consultant and youll do fine. If you consultant is anything like mine is, his mum would be proud of his stitching capabilities. Im now incredibly smug with my friends, as compared to them and they havent had breast cancer…my boobs are way much better than theres!!
We all have our good days and bad days, we all have the wobble moments and its even scarier at the start of it all. Ive always been more bothered about my bum than my boobs…boobs can be replaced…damn shame they cant replace the bums we’ve been given. x

i no its easy for me to say and harder for you to do please try and be positive you will get all sorts emotions from your illness its normal. you are still the same woman you was b4 surgery

hi ellee

sorry u feeling so low at moment,it is very daunting at times but try not to think too far ahead. get through each day a bit at a time, and try and do things you enjoy.