devastated

hi i am so new to this. my mum was diagnosed with a grade 3 breast cancer on 23/12/2011. and i am really struggling to come to terms with it. we decended for xmas as planned and all kept a brave face and did not talk about it but i found this really hard and we came home a day early.i live about an hour away and have 3 beautiful kids and a wonderful partner…but am struggling to understand how mum can just carry on and act normally as i am totally devastated. now i find this irrational as i am a nurse so know the wonders that can be done now but have took a month off work as my emotions are everywhere. i want to be there for her and go over in the day but she just wants normality. my sister has m.s. and so chatting to her about how i feel is really hard as that disease has robbed me of a sister relationship i so dont want to lose my mum too. i know that sitting at home dwelling on it wont change anything but is it normal to feel such devastation…???michelle.

Michelle, with this blasted disease, anything is normal!

It’s early days, and the very start of this is the worst for just about everyone concerned, as it’s new, you don’t know what’s going on, what the treatment will be, and getting your head round the diagnosis really messes with your head.

Once your mum knows what her treatment plan is (surgery?/chemo?/rads?/herceptin?/hormone therapy?) she’ll be in a better position to have a sensible conversation with you about what’s what and what support she needs. I suspect she’ll really appreciate your practical help a bit further down the line but I could be wrong.

I know they’re shut at the moment, but you would do well to call the helpline on Monday. They’re there for family and friends of people with BC too, and having a chat with someone who understands what’s going on may be really helpful for you.