Diagnosed Thursday

I’m new to all this. I’m neally 52 and foung a lump. Have had a core biopsy and was told I had breast cancer last thursday. I am booked tohave a lumpectomy in 3 weeks time. Is this the normal to have to wait this long from diagnosis?
Janexx

hi jane! i too am very new to this site, 41 yrs old,dx with idc and booked for wle &snd nxt monday.so all in all 3 wks from dx till surgery.i thought that was pretty fast at the time but with hindsight i want it over and done with like yesterday!reckon the timescale 4 u is pretty normal so dont worry anymore than u r already.easy 2 say i know but ur in good company here.ask away with any questions,the ladies on this site have been a godsend 2 me!with love,alex xx

Hi Jane,

I have also recently been diagnosed and like you have had to wait 3 weeks for surgery (next Thursday). Although it initally seemed like a long wait, I have tried to use the time to find out as much as I can about BC (this site has been invaluable answering all my questions) My family have been fantastic, my home is now cleaner and tidier than ever, I have passed on my duties to my colleague at work and friends/family/colleagues etc have all been informed. I now feel I am physically and emotionally ready for whatever may happen following surgery.

Good luck to you - keep strong

Lynn

Hi ladies who have been recently diagnosed. I am a bit further down the road than all of you, but thought I would post on this thread to perhaps offer you a bit of reassurance about timescales.

I found a lump in my left breast in January 2010, went to doc, got referred to breast clinic and was seen within a week. Had mammo, u/s and core biopsy, all of which were clear and was told “it is just normal breast tissue”. (This is a summary of my experience)!!
Went back in March 2010 and in June 2010, but consultant refused to remove lump because of “normal” test results.