difference between fine needle aspiration and biopsy

Had a scan and fine needle aspiration about 5 weeks ago.Didn’t get results or hear back so assumed fine.Wasn’t too woried as I was due annual mammogram beginning April which I had.Had an appointment with the Oncologist last week who said every thing was fine.Saturday morning received a letter calling me back for a further mammogram and biopsy examination for this tueday (5th May)! Am now in shock as I had bc march 07 and thought after having got results everything was fine!!! Not too sure what to think at the moment.Can anyone tell me what the difference is between a biospy and FNA/Scan and why you would have one and then the other.Also is it normal when Oncologist says everything fine you would be called back for mamogram and biospy!

Hazel, I’m really new to this, so I’m not sure if this helps. I had a FNA in the lymphs glands/nodes but as it only takes fluid rather than actual tissue it can be inconclusive. I had biopsy on the lumps using a scan and as it takes a bit of tissue it is always (or nearly always) more accurate. Hope this helps, don’t really understand what is going on for you, as it seems really bad to leave you hanging on and giving you the all clear and then calling you back again. I really hope it is good news for you. x

Hi Hazell

Welcome to the BCC discussion forums. As well as the information you receive from the other users you may find it helpful to read the BCC booklet ‘Referral to a Breast Clinic’ as it gives details of the different tests, including mammogram, ultrasound scan, core biobsy and fine needle aspiration cytology.

I have this helps

Kind regards
Sam (BCC Facilitator)